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Utilization Review Organization Registration 
Guidelines 
Illinois Department of Insurance 
What are Workers' Compensation Utilization Review Organizations? 

A Workers Compensation Utilization Review Organization (URO) is an entity which evaluates the proposed or 
provided health care services to determine the appropriateness of both the level of health care services 
medically necessary and the quality of health care services provided to a patient, including evaluation of their 
efficiency, efficacy, and appropriateness of treatment, hospitalization, or office visits based on medically 
accepted standards. The evaluation must be accomplished by means of a system that identifies the utilization of 
health care services based on standards of care or nationally recognized peer review guidelines as well as 
nationally recognized evidence based upon standards as provided in the Act. Utilization techniques may include 
prospective review, second opinions, concurrent review, discharge planning, peer review, independent medical 
examinations, and retrospective review. Retrospective review shall be applicable to any service rendered on or 
after July 20, 2005. Workers Compensation Utilization Review does Not include the prospective review of: 

• Necessary first aid or  
• Emergency treatment  

When must Workers' Compensation Utilization Review Organizations Register? 

On or after July 1, 2006, all UROs must register with the Director of Insurance. Registration of Illinois UROs is 
effective for a period of two years and must be renewed biennial. Each URO registration must contain a 
completed Application for Registration of a Utilization Review Organization (Section 2905 Exhibit A) and 
Utilization Review Organization Officers and Directors Biographical Affidavit (Section 2905 Exhibit B). 

What is the registration fee for an Illinois Utilization Review Organization? 

A registration fee of $3,000 must be submitted with each application or renewal, unless the URO holds a current 
accreditation with the American Accreditation Healthcare Commission (URAC) in which case the registration 
and renewal fee will be $1,500. All checks or money orders must be made payable to the Director of Insurance, 
State of Illinois. 

Mail Completed Applications to: 

Illinois Department of Insurance 
Utilization Review / Managed Care Compliance Unit 

file://10.65.67.32/websites/insurance.illinois.gov/URO/Renewal_Application.pdf
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/050/05002905ZZ9999AR.html
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/050/05002905ZZ9999BR.html
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320 West Washington Street 
Springfield, Il 62767-0001 

ANY MATERIAL CHANGES IN YOUR URO APPLICATION MUST BE FILED WITH THE DIRECTOR 
WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE CHANGE. 

If you have questions, please contact the Illinois Department of Insurance at 217-557-6953 or 
DOI.Managed.Care@illinois.gov 
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