
Consumer Cancellation and 
Nonrenewal Hearings

#1 REQUESTING A 
HEARING

#2 THE HEARING

#3 FINAL DECISION

IMPORTANT: The Director cannot reverse 
the cancellation/nonrenewal of your 

policy unless the facts presented at the 
hearing show that the company violated 
one or more sections of the Illinois laws 

listed in 215 ILCS 5/143.23, EVEN IF there 
were other problems with the way that 
the company handled your claims or the 

cancellation/nonrenewal decision.

Illinois law requires the company to continue your insurance 
coverage throughout the hearing process even if a decision is 

not reached until after the effective date of cancellation/
nonrenewal.

Please note that the insurance company is entitled to continue 
billing you for premiums to provide you insurance during this 
process. If you do not pay the premiums, then the company 
will not have to extend your coverage beyond the effective 
date of cancellation or nonrenewal even while the hearing 

decision is still pending.

My insurance company sent me a 
Notice of Cancellation or Notice of 

Nonrenewal

Who Can Request a Hearing?
· Only the named insured (or authorized 

representative) may request the hearing. 

When Should I Request A 
Hearing?

The Department must receive your request 
at least 20 days before the effective date of 
cancellation or nonrenewal, or else you will 

not be eligible for a hearing.

I Requested a Hearing. What 
Happens Next?

What If I Cannot Attend on the Scheduled Date, 
or If I Decide I No Longer Want the Hearing?

· Contact the Hearing Officer listed in the Notice 
of Hearing to reschedule or to withdraw your 
request for a hearing.

· If you are running late on the day of the 
hearing, call the Department to inform the 
Hearing Officer

When Will the Hearing Be 
Scheduled?

· Usually around 30-60 days 
from the date of the Notice of 
Hearing is mailed after you 
request a hearing.

Will I Have Insurance During 
This Process?

How Do I Prepare For The 
Hearing?

Notice of Hearing
· The Department will send you a Notice of Hearing 

that gives details about where, when, and how 
the hearing will proceed, and whom to contact 
about it. It is important that you read the Notice 
of Hearing. 

· The Director cannot legally reverse the 
cancellation/nonrenewal unless the facts show 
that the company violated one or more of those 
statutes. 

Do I Need to Get an Attorney?
· You are not required to have an attorney, but you 

can bring one if you want. Insurance companies 
sometimes send an attorney and sometimes just 
send a company representative.

What Should I Bring to the 
Hearing?

· Bring three hardcopies of any 
documents or other evidence 
that can help you explain your 
side. This includes 
communications with your 
insurance company.

· You can also bring witnesses 
who can support your case.

What Will the Hearing Officer Already Have?
· They will already have a copy of your Request for 

Hearing and the company’s Notice of Nonrenewal 
or Cancellation, as well as any other 
communications you or the company have with 
the Hearing Officer directly about this hearing.

·  However, the Hearing Officer will not have any 
other communications you or the company have 
with the Department’s Consumer Complaints 
unit, or any communications you have directly 
with your company. If you want the Hearing 
Officer to consider those communications at the 
hearing, you must bring copies of them yourself.

What Happens At the 
Hearing?

DAY OF THE HEARING

· You present your case first.  Give a brief statement of: (1) which 

insurance law(s) you believe the company violated when it 
cancelled/nonrenewed your policy; and (2) what happened that 
made you believe the company violated such law(s). If you have 
witnesses, you may ask them questions that are relevant to your 
case. You may also present any relevant evidence that you brought 
with you. When you are finished, the company representative will 
be able to ask questions of you and your witnesses about anything 
you have presented.

· Next, the company will present its case in a similar fashion. You 

may ask questions after the company has presented its case. 

What Happens if I Don’t Show Up?
· If you do not notify the Hearing Officer 

in advance that you need to reschedule, 
the hearing will proceed without you. 
This means that the Director will make a 
decision about your case based only on 
the insurance company’s evidence 
without your having the chance to tell 
your side of the story.

When Will There Be a Final 
Decision?

· The Director shall issue a 
written order within 20 
days of the conclusion of 
the hearing.

What Happens After the 
Hearing?

· The Hearing Officer 
will consider the 
evidence and 
testimony and make 
recommendations to 
the Director within 5 
business days. The 
Director ultimately 
makes the decision 
about your case.

What Are the Possible 
Outcomes of the Final 

Decision?

What the Director Can Do
in the Final Decision

· If the Director finds that the company violated an 
applicable Illinois law when it cancelled/nonrenewed 
your policy, your insurance company will be ordered 
to reinstate the policy.

· If the Director finds that the cancellation/nonrenewal 
did not violate an applicable law, then the insurance 
company will be able to end your coverage as early as 
30 days after the date of the Director’s decision. This 
will give you some time to find replacement coverage. 

What the Director Can’t Do
· Besides assessing costs, the Director cannot legally 

do anything but order the company to reinstate your 
policy, or affirm that the company did not violate the 
laws covered by the hearing. For example, the 
Director cannot order the company to remove a 
claim from your record. 

Will I Be Charged for any Costs of the Hearing?
· Generally, there are no costs for the hearing. However, the 

Department is allowed to charge the losing party for the 
costs of the hearing, up to $100, once the Director issues a 
final decision.

What If the Final Decision 
Does Not Fully Resolve My 

Complaint?

Can I Appeal the Final Decision?
· Yes. You can request a rehearing or to reopen the 

hearing if the Department receives your request 
within 10 calendar days of the date the Final Decision 
was put in the mail to you. See 50 Ill. Adm. Code 
2402.280. Be sure to explain why your request should 
be granted. The Director will issue an order either 
granting or rejecting your request.

· If you are unable to resolve your dispute through a 
rehearing or reopening of the hearing, you can appeal 
to a circuit court under the Administrative Review 
Law. 735 ILCS 5/3-101 et seq. Failure to request a 
rehearing or to reopen the hearing with the 
Department may affect your ability to appeal  to the 
circuit court. You must file your appeal with the 
circuit court within 35 days of the date the Director’s 
last order was mailed to you.

What If I Need Something Besides Just My Policy Being 
Reinstated?

· During the hearing process, the Department’s 
Consumer Complaints unit will separately review 
your complaint. They will inform both you and the 
company whether they believe there have been any 
violations of Illinois insurance laws, even the laws 
that the hearing process does not address. The 
Consumer Complaints unit does not consult with the 
Hearing Officer about their opinions, and their 
opinions do not constrain the Director’s Final 
Decision on the hearing.

· If neither the hearing process nor the Consumer 
Complaints unit is able to resolve all of your 
concerns, you might still have other legal avenues 
for relief against the insurance company or other 
involved persons in a judicial court. However, the 
Department is not involved in such judicial 
proceedings and cannot advise you about them.

How do I request a Hearing?
· Online: On the Illinois Department of Insurance 

website, look under the drop down menu 
“Consumers”, and click on “Consumer Hearings.” 
Follow the directions to submit an online request and 
select the form for the type of insurance that you 
carry. Make sure you click “Yes” toward the bottom of 
the form where it asks “Do you want to request a 
hearing?”

· Postal Mail: The Department’s website has a form 
that you can print out and mail to us here. You can 
also write a letter explaining your complaint and 
requesting a hearing. Requests for hearing should be 
mailed to the following address:

Illinois Department of Insurance
Attn: LEGAL

320 W Washington St, 4th Floor

Springfield, IL 62767-0001

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=021500050HArt%2E+IX&ActID=1249&ChapterID=22&SeqStart=48100000&SeqEnd=62750000
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=073500050HArt%2E+III&ActID=2017&ChapterID=56&SeqStart=22200000&SeqEnd=23600000
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