
HEALTH ENTITIES 
REQUIRED FILINGS IN THE STATE OF: ILLINOIS Filings Made During the Year 2014 
 
Note A - Required Filings Contact Persons 

 
Actuarial Opinions Susan Christy (217) 785-0903 
Amended Filings Alesia Pierce (217) 782-1777 
Audited Financial Statements Alesia Pierce (217) 782-1777 
Financial Regulation Fee Tax Unit (217) 782-0055 
Financial Statements Alesia Pierce (217) 782-1777 
Holding Company Filings Ann VonDeBur (217) 785-7600 
Privilege & Retaliatory Tax Tax Unit (217) 782-0055 
Risk-Based Capital Alesia Pierce (217) 782-1777 
 

Note B - Mailing Address 
 

Illinois Department of Insurance 
L/A&H Financial Analysis Unit 
320 West Washington Street, Fourth Floor 
Springfield, IL 62767-0001 
 

Note C - Mailing Address for Filing Fees 
 

Annual Statement Filing Fee (domestic only)             $200 
            Certificate of Authority Renewal Fee (foreign)          $400 
            Mail to:           Illinois Department of Insurance 
                                    Tax Unit 
                                    P.O. Box 7087 
                                    Springfield, IL 62791 
 
            Form B Filing Fee                                            $200 
            Mail to address listed in Note B  
 
Note D - Mailing Address for Privilege & Retaliatory Tax Payments 
 

Illinois Department of Insurance 
Tax Unit 
P.O. Box 7087 
Springfield, IL 62791 
 

Note E - Delivery Instructions 
 

All filings must be postmarked no later than the indicated due date.  The official filing 
date is the U.S. Postal date stamp.  If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, then the 
deadline is extended to the next business day. 

 
Note F - Late Filings 
 

Companies will be fined a penalty of up to $1,000 per day for a late or incomplete filing. 
Annual Statement filings will be considered incomplete if only one statement is received 
or if Risk-Based Capital information is not included on page 29, lines 14 and 15.  
Companies are subject to Privilege and Retaliatory Tax penalties per 215 ILCS 5/412. 
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Note G - Original Signatures 
 

Original signatures are required on all filings from domestic companies.  
 

Note H - Signature/Notarization/Certification 
 

The Annual Statement shall be verified by oaths of the President and Secretary of the 
company or, in their absence, by two other principal officers. 
 

Note I - Amended Filings 
 

SSAP 3, paragraph 10 of the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual states 
that corrections of errors in previously issued financial statements shall be reported as 
adjustments to unassigned funds in the period an error is detected.  In addition, this 
paragraph directs the company to obtain approval of the domiciliary regulator 
before filing an amendment to the financial statements. 

 
For domestic companies, if approval is given by the Illinois Department of Insurance to 
make an amendment, the amendment must be submitted simultaneously to the Illinois 
Department of Insurance, the NAIC, and all other states in which the company is 
licensed.  The submission of an amendment must include an appropriately signed jurat 
page.  Please note for domestic companies, a fine may result if there is an amendment 
submitted without prior approval. 

 
Note J - Exceptions from Normal Filings  
 

The request for an exemption or extension must be submitted in writing not less than ten 
days prior to the due date in sufficient detail to permit the Director to make an informed 
decision with respect to the request.   
 

Note K - Bar Codes (State or NAIC) 
 

Not applicable 
 

Note L – Signed Jurat  
 

See NAIC Annual Statement Instructions. 
 

Note M - NONE Filings  
 

See NAIC Annual Statement Instructions. Exceptions to these instructions are noted on 
the form. 
 

Note N – Filing new, discontinued, or modified materially since last year 
 

None.    
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Note O - Form Source NAIC   
 

The company must obtain the forms from the appropriate vendor. 
 
Note P - Form Source STATE 
 

The state will provide the forms with the filing instructions. 
 

Note Q - Form Source COMPANY 
 

The company, or its representative (e.g., its CPA firm), is expected to provide the form      
based upon the appropriate state instructions or the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions. 

 
Note R - Required Filings of the Department 
 

Quarterly financial statements and Risk-Based Capital Reports are required filings for all 
domestic companies.   
 

Note S - Annual Form C Filing 
 

The Form C must contain text that describes each transaction that took place since the 
prior year Form B was filed. It is not sufficient to reference amendments that were 
previously filed with the Department. 
 

Note T - Risk-Based Capital 
 

If the amounts reported in the Annual statement have been calculated using modifications 
to the NAIC instructions, the annual statement must be accompanied by a cover letter 
stating what the Total Adjusted Capital and Authorized Control Level would be without 
those modifications. All Risk-Based Capital Reports must be bound or stapled 
(binder clips are unacceptable). 
 

Note U - Management’s Discussion and Analysis 
 

If the Management’s Discussion and Analysis is consolidated, a separate copy must be 
provided for each company along with a cover letter, which details any specific 
individual company information. 

 
Note V - Annual Statement Filings 
 

All Annual Statements must be BOUND on the side and DUPLEXED with appropriate 
covers or the filing will be deemed incomplete and the company will be fined accordingly 
for filing an incomplete and late annual statement. 
 
 
 

Note W - CPA Audit Filings 
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All CPA audits are due on June 1.  Any company whose domestic state due date is after 
June 1 must file an extension request no later than ten days prior to the June 1 due date.  
If the extension request is not received ten days prior to June 1st, the audit will be 
considered due on June 1st and, if late, the company will be fined accordingly.   
 

Note X - Illinois Business Page 
 

An Illinois Business Page (page 29 within the annual statement) must be filed with both 
the Department of Insurance and with the NAIC. 

 
Note Y - Point of Service  
           

Only required for HMO and LHSO companies.  Please complete even if HMO and/or 
LHSO has no Point of Service business. 

 
Note Z - LAH & P&C Companies 
 

LAH and P&C companies that file on the Health Blank should use the checklist for their 
respective business type, not the Health checklist.   
 

Note AA - All Companies 
 
 Provider Agreements are to be filed through SERFF. 


