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National Health Reform—Comparison to Current Illinois Law 
Illinois Department of Insurance 

May 2010 
 

Note: This information was developed to provide consumers with general information and guidance about insurance coverage and laws.  It is not intended to provide a formal, 
definitive description or interpretation of Department policy.  For specific Department policy on any issue, regulated entities (insurance industry) and interested parties should 
contact the Department. 
 

Issue Current Illinois Law PPACA Section  Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 
2010 (“PPACA”) 

 
IMMEDIATE INSURANCE MARKET REFORMS 

-- Effective for Plan Years beginning on or after September 23, 2010 (unless indicated otherwise below) --  
 

Lifetime/Annual 
Limits 

Insurers 
• In general, Illinois law does not restrict the 

use of annual or lifetime dollar limits by 
health insurers. 

 
HMOs 
• Illinois law does not specifically prohibit 

annual or lifetime dollar limits for HMO 
plans. 

o However, HMO plans must provide for 
a certain minimum level of basic health 
care services, regardless of the dollar 
value of claims incurred within a given 
year or during the lifetime of the 
enrollee.  Individual or group HMO 
plans containing an annual or lifetime 
dollar limit are not approved for sale by 
the Department. (215 ILCS 125/5-7; 50 
Ill. Adm. Code 5421.130) 

Sec. 1001  
(as amended by Sec. 
10101(a)) 
 
Public Health  
Service Act  
Sec. 2711 
 
 

• PPACA prohibits the use of lifetime dollar limits 
on “essential health benefits” for all individual 
and group plans, including self-insured plans.1 

 
• Prior to 2014, PPACA allows insurance 

companies and self-insured plans to establish 
“restricted” annual limits.2  Beginning in 2014, 
annual limits will be prohibited entirely. 
o Does not apply to grandfathered individual 

plans.3 
 

                                                 
1 See page 13 below for categories of essential health benefits.  See here for the Department’s fact sheet explaining self-insured health plans. 
2 The definition of “restricted annual limit” will be determined by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) in a manner that ensures “that access to needed 
services is made available with a minimal impact on premiums.” 
3 In general, a grandfathered plan refers to any coverage in which an individual was enrolled as of March 23, 2010, the date on which PPACA was signed into law. See here for 
more information on grandfathered plans under PPACA. 

http://insurance.illinois.gov/HealthInsurance/SelfInsuredHealthPlans.asp
http://naic.org/documents/index_health_reform_general_grandfathering.pdf


2 

Rescissions 

• Illinois law allows an insurance company to 
“rescind” (terminate the policy back to the 
original effective date) a health insurance 
policy any time within the first 2 years after 
the policy is issued if the company finds an 
omission or incorrect response on an 
application—whether intentional or not. (50 
Ill. Adm. Code 2005.40(d)) 

o After 2 years, an insurance company 
can rescind a health insurance policy 
only in cases of fraud. (215 ILCS 
5/357.3) 

  
• A recent survey by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners 
(NAIC) revealed that Illinois has more 
rescissions by volume than any state in the 
entire country—almost fifty percent (50%) 
more than California. 

o In one instance, an insurer attempted to 
rescind a teenager's coverage on her 
family policy because her parents failed 
to disclose her congenital deformity—
she wore braces. 

 

Sec. 1001 
 
PHSA Sec. 2712 
 
 

• PPACA prohibits rescissions, except in cases 
where an individual “has performed an act or 
practice that constitutes fraud or makes an 
intentional misrepresentation of material fact as 
prohibited by the terms of the plan or coverage.” 

 
 

Preventive 
Benefits 

• Illinois law requires insurers and HMOs to 
provide certain mandated benefits, 
including preventive benefits such as 
mammograms and other cancer screenings.  
See here for a comprehensive list of 
mandated benefits. 

• Many other preventive benefits may not be 
included in a health insurance policy.  
Those benefits that are included may be 
subject to significant cost-sharing 
requirements (including deductibles and 
co-payments). 

Sec. 1001 
 
PHSA Sec. 2713 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 

• PPACA requires all individual and group plans, 
including self-insured plans, to provide first-
dollar coverage for a defined list of preventive 
health services.  

 
• In other words, insurers will be required to 

include wellness and prevention benefits such as 
immunizations and screenings, without cost to the 
policyholder. 

http://www.naic.org/documents/committees_b_regulatory_framework_rescission_data_call_report.pdf
http://insurance.illinois.gov/HealthInsurance/Mandated_benefits.asp
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Coverage of 
Young Adult 
Children 

• Illinois law requires individual and group 
health insurance policies that offer 
dependent coverage to allow unmarried  
young adults up to age 26, or up to age 30 
for military veterans, to remain covered 
under a parent’s health insurance plan. 
(215 ILCS 5/356z.12) 

 
• Under the Illinois law, insurance 

companies are allowed to establish 
additional eligibility requirements (for 
example, that a young adult have the same 
permanent mailing address as the parent), 
provided that such requirements do not act 
as a substitute for age or student status. 

 
• Like other state insurance laws, the Illinois 

law does not apply to self-insured 
employer policies. 

 
See here for the Department’s fact sheet on 
Young Adult Dependent Coverage. 
 

Sec. 1001 
(as amended by 
Section 2301(b) of 
the Health Care and 
Education 
Reconciliation Act of 
2010) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2714 
 
 

• PPACA requires all individual and group plans 
that offer dependent coverage—including self-
insured employer plans—to allow young adults 
up to age 26 to remain covered on a parent’s plan. 
o For grandfathered self-insured plans, the plan 

may exclude coverage for a dependent who 
has access to another group plan (e.g., through 
the dependent’s own employer). 

 
• PPACA does not allow insurance companies or 

employers to establish eligibility requirements for 
dependent coverage other than age and 
relationship to the insured (e.g., child, adopted 
child, grandchild, etc.). 

 
See here for regulations and guidance from HHS. 

Uniform 
Explanation of 
Coverage 
Documents and 
Standardization 
of Terms 

• Illinois law provides a standard definition 
for certain insurance terms (for example, 
“preexisting condition”) that must be used 
by insurance companies in the application 
or policy documents. 

 
• HMOs, but not insurers, are required to 

adhere to uniform standards for providing 
explanation of coverage documents (i.e., a 
summary of coverage provided under a 
health insurance policy). (50 Ill. Adm. 
Code 5420.40)   

Sec. 1001 
 
PHSA Sec. 2715 

• PPACA requires HHS to develop, in consultation 
with the NAIC, standards for a summary of 
benefits and coverage document, not to exceed 4 
pages in length, to be used by all health insurance 
companies and employer health plans.  The 
standards will include uniform definitions of 
insurance terms. 
o HHS will develop standards not later than 12 

months after enactment (March 23, 2011). 
o The summary of benefits document must be 

provided by insurance companies and 
employer plans beginning not later than 24 
months after enactment (March 23, 2012). 

http://insurance.illinois.gov/HealthInsurance/ya_dependent.asp
http://www.hhs.gov/ociio/regulations/index.html#dependent_coverage
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Additional 
Insurer 
Reporting 
Requirements 

• Insurers and HMOs in Illinois are required 
to submit annual and/or quarterly financial 
statements. (215 ILCS 5/136; 215 ILCS 
125/2-7) 

 
• HMOs must report additional information 

to the Department, including data on 
enrollment and complaints involving 
denied claims. (215 ILCS 134/55) 

 
Click here to see a list of reports published by 
the Department.   

Sec. 10101(c) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2715A 
 
 

• PPACA requires all insurance companies to 
report to the Department and HHS information 
regarding:  
o Claims payment policies and practices; 
o Data on enrollment, disenrollment, number of 

denied claims, and rating practices;  and 
o Information on cost sharing and payments for 

out-of-network coverage. 
 
• The data must also be made available to the 

public. 
 

Prohibition of 
Discrimination 
Based on Salary  

 
No applicable Illinois law. 

Sec. 1001 
(as amended by Sec. 
10101(d)) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2716 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 

• PPACA requires group health insurance plans to 
comply with certain requirements relating to the 
prohibition on discrimination in favor of highly 
compensated individuals. (Section 105(h)(2) of 
the Internal Revenue Code of 1986) 

Quality 
Reporting 
Requirements 

 
No applicable Illinois law. 

 
Sec. 1001 
(as amended by Sec. 
10101(e)) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2717 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 
 

• PPACA requires insurance companies and 
employer plans to report information regarding 
benefit and reimbursement structures that: 
improve health outcomes (e.g., through the use of 
case management or medical homes); prevent 
hospital readmissions; reduce medical errors; and 
implement wellness and health promotion 
activities. 

http://insurance.illinois.gov/Reports/Report_Links.asp
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Minimum 
Medical Loss 
Ratios 

• Illinois law does not require health 
insurance companies to spend a minimum 
percentage of premium dollars on providing 
health care to policyholders (known as a 
“medical loss ratio”).4 

 
• Pursuant to Public Act 96-857, signed by 

Governor Quinn on January 5, 2010, health 
insurance companies will be required to 
submit to the Department semi-annual 
statements with detailed information 
regarding premiums and expenditures for 
major medical health insurance plans. 

o The information will be publicly 
available on the Department’s 
website. 

o This reporting requirement will be 
effective January 1, 2011. (215 ILCS 
5/359c) 

Sec. 1001 
(as amended by Sec. 
10101(f)) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2718 
 
 

• PPACA requires minimum medical loss ratios of 
85% in the large group market and 80% in the 
individual and small group markets. 

o Insurers who do not meet the applicable 
minimum medical loss ratio will be required 
to issue rebates to policyholders. (Effective 
beginning January 1, 2011) 

  
• PPACA requires insurance companies to report 

detailed loss ratio data, which will be posted on 
the HHS and DOI websites. 

 
• Hospitals will also be required to establish and 

publicize a list of standard charges for items and 
services provided by the hospital. 

 
See here for the HHS Request for Comments. 

Appeal Rights 

• Pursuant to Public Act 96-857, signed by 
Governor Quinn on January 5, 2010, all 
Illinois residents covered by an individual 
or group health insurance policy have the 
right to an internal appeal and an 
independent, external review of denied 
health insurance claims.   
o The law is effective beginning July 1, 

2010. (215 ILCS 180) 
 
• Like other state insurance laws, the Illinois 

law does not apply to self-insured plans. 

Sec. 1001 
(as amended by Sec. 
10101(g)) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2719 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 
 
 

• PPACA requires all individual and group plans—
including self-insured employer plans—to 
provide internal appeal and external review 
processes that meet minimum consumer 
protection standards. 

Provider 
Network 
Provisions  

 
Direct Access to OB/GYNs 
• Illinois law requires all individual and 

group insurance policies and HMO 

Sec. 10101(h) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2719A 
 

 
Direct Access to OB/GYNs 
• PPACA requires all individual and group plans 

that provide coverage for obstetric or gynecologic 

                                                 
4 Individual and group Medicare Supplement policies must meet certain minimum loss ratio requirements (50 Ill. Adm. Code 2008.80). 

http://www.hhs.gov/ociio/regulations/index.html#med_loss_ratios
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contracts to allow women to designate a 
“woman’s principal health care provider,” 
or a participating provider specializing in 
obstetrics or gynecology whom the woman 
may visit without the need for a referral. 
(215 ILCS 5/356r) 

 
Emergency Services 
• HMOs must cover emergency services 

without regard to prior authorization (215 
ILCS 134/65)   

 
• Insurers and HMOs must provide coverage 

for out-of-network emergency services at 
no greater cost to the insured than if the 
emergency service or treatment was 
provided by an in-network provider. (50 Ill. 
Adm. Code 2051.310(a)(6)(J)) 

 

(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 

care to allow women “direct access” (i.e., without 
referral or authorization requirements) to ANY 
participating OB/GYN. 

 
Choice of Providers 
• PPACA requires all individual and group plans to 

allow enrollees to select from any participating 
primary care provider (including pediatricians for 
children). 

 
 
Emergency Services 
• PPACA prohibits all individual and group plans 

from imposing preauthorization requirements for 
emergency services.   

• The cost-sharing requirements (i.e., copayment or 
coinsurance rate) imposed by a plan for 
emergency services provided by an out-of-
network provider must be the same as those that 
apply with respect to an in-network provider. 

• Benefit limitations and other terms or conditions 
for emergency services provided by an out-of-
network provider must not be more restrictive 
than those that apply with respect to an in-
network provider. 

 

Pre-Existing 
Condition 
Exclusions 

Insurers 
Individual/Family Health Insurance: 
• Illinois law allows health insurers to deny 

or reduce a claim, within the first 2 years 
after the policy’s effective date, based on 
the presence of a “preexisting condition.” 
(215 ILCS 5/357.3) 
o Illinois law establishes a minimum 

definition of “preexisting condition.” 
In general, a condition can be 
considered preexisting if it was 

Sec. 1201; Sec. 1255 
(as amended by Sec. 
10103(e)) 
 
PHSA Sec. 2704 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered 
individual plans) 

•  PPACA prohibits all preexisting condition 
exclusions for children under age 19. 

 
• PPACA prohibits preexisting condition 

exclusions for all persons beginning January 1, 
2014. 

 
• The Obama administration has indicated that it 

will interpret this provision to require that 
insurers and HMOs provide coverage without 
pre-existing condition exclusions to children if 
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diagnosed or treated by a licensed 
physician within 24 months prior to 
the policy’s effective date.  A 
condition that was not diagnosed or 
treated could also be considered a 
preexisting condition if there were 
symptoms evident within 12 months 
before the policy’s effective date that 
would have caused “an ordinarily 
prudent person to seek diagnosis, care 
or treatment.” (50 Ill. Adm. Code 
2005.30) 

 
Group (Employer-Based) Health Insurance: 
• State and federal laws limit the maximum 

preexisting condition exclusion period to 
12 months (or 18 months in the case of a 
late enrollee) for persons covered by 
employer-based health insurance policies. 

• The maximum exclusion period must be 
reduced by a person’s prior health 
insurance coverage. 

• A condition cannot be considered 
preexisting unless medical care was 
recommended or received within the 6 
months prior to the date of enrollment. 
(215 ILCS 97/20)  

 
HMOs 
• HMOs may not deny or reduce a claim for 

preexisting conditions. HMOs may, 
however, impose higher cost-sharing 
requirements for the treatment of 
preexisting conditions. (50 Ill. Adm. Code 
5421.110(j))  

they cover the parents, and the health insurance 
industry has signaled its intention to comply with 
this interpretation. More detailed guidance will be 
forthcoming from HHS.  
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Health 
Insurance 
Consumer 
Information 

• The Department maintains an Office of 
Consumer Health Insurance (OHCI) to 
answer questions, provide information, and 
assist Illinois consumers with all health 
insurance inquiries. 

• OCHI was established pursuant to the 
Managed Care Reform and Patient Rights 
Act (215 ILCS 134) 

• OCHI’s toll-free telephone number is (877) 
527-9431. 

Sec. 1002 
 
(Effective upon 
enactment)  

• PPACA appropriates $30 million for states to 
establish, expand, or provide support for offices 
of health insurance consumer assistance or health 
insurance ombudsman programs. 

Premium 
Review 

 
• In general, Illinois law does not vest the 

Department with authority to approve or 
deny any health insurance premium rate or 
rate increase.5 (215 ILCS 5/355; 215 ILCS 
125/2-1(12); 50 Ill. Adm. Code 5421.60) 
o The Individual Major Medical Health 

Policy Rate Filing Report posted on 
the Department’s website reveals 
annual rate increases of up to 80%.   

 
• For non-HMO group plans, insurers do not 

even file premium rates or rate increases 
with the Department.6 

 
 
 

Sec. 1003 
(as amended by Sec. 
10101(i))  
 
PHSA Sec. 2794 
 
(Effective upon 
enactment)  

 
• PPACA establishes a process for the annual 

review, beginning with the 2010 plan year, of 
“unreasonable” increases in premiums. 

o Insurers are required to submit, to the 
Department of Insurance and the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services 
(HHS), the justification for an unreasonable 
premium increase prior to implementing the 
increase, and to post such information on 
the company websites. 

 
See here for the HHS Request for Comments. 
 

High Risk Pool 
Coverage 

• The Illinois Comprehensive Health 
Insurance Plan (ICHIP) provides coverage 
to individuals denied by health insurers and 
those losing group health insurance.  (215 
ILCS 105) 

 
 

Sec. 1101 
 
(Effective upon 
enactment) 

• PPACA appropriates $5 billion for states to 
establish a temporary high risk pool program to 
provide health insurance coverage to uninsured 
individuals with preexisting conditions. 

o The federally funded high risk pools will 
serve as a coverage link until January 1, 
2014, when insurers will be prohibited 

                                                 
5 Premium rates and rating schedules for individual and group Medicare Supplement policies must be filed with and approved by the Department (50 Ill. Adm. Code 2008.81).  
6 Premium rates for small employers must comply with the Small Employer Health Insurance Rating Act (“SEHIRA”; 215 ILCS 93).  When the Department receives complaints 
from a small employers or its employees, the Department verifies that the premiums charged to the small employer are in compliance with SEHIRA. 

http://insurance.illinois.gov/reports/special_reports/IMMHPRFRG.pdf
http://insurance.illinois.gov/reports/special_reports/IMMHPRFRG.pdf
http://www.hhs.gov/ociio/regulations/index.html#premium_review
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• ICHIP premiums are unaffordable for 
many. 
o By law, premium rates for ICHIP 

plans must be between 125% and 
150% of the “standard risk rate,” or 
the average premium for comparable 
coverage sold by the five largest 
health insurance companies in the 
state. (215 ILCS 105/7.1) 

 
Click here for more information about ICHIP. 
 

from basing coverage or pricing decisions 
on health status. 

o HHS estimates Illinois will receive 
approximately $196 million. 

o The federally funded high risk pools must 
be established within 90 days after 
enactment. 

 
 

• Premiums for the federally funded high risk pools 
must equal 100% of the standard premium rate. 

 
See here for more information from HHS on the 
federally funded high risk pool.  
 

Reinsurance for 
Early Retirees 

 
No applicable Illinois program. 

Sec. 1102 
 
(Effective upon 
enactment) 

• PPACA appropriates $5 billion for the 
establishment of a temporary reinsurance 
program for early retirees (age 55 years or older 
and ineligible for Medicare).  

• Participating employers, including State and local 
governments, will be reimbursed for 80% of 
medical claims between $15,000 and $90,000 
incurred by retired employees.  

• The reinsurance program will be established 
within 90 days of enactment. 

 
See here for regulations and guidance from HHS. 

 

Internet Portal 

 
No applicable Illinois program. 

Sec. 1103 
 
(Effective upon 
enactment) 
 

• PPACA requires the establishment of an Internet 
portal allowing small businesses and individuals 
to identify affordable coverage options, including 
private major medical insurance, Medicaid, and 
State high-risk pools.  

• The internet portal will be established by July 1, 
2010. 

 
See here for regulations and guidance from HHS. 

http://www.chip.state.il.us/
http://www.hhs.gov/ociio/initiative/hi_risk_pool_facts.html
http://www.hhs.gov/ociio/regulations/index.html#early_retiree
http://www.hhs.gov/ociio/regulations/index.html#health_care_reform
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Administrative 
Simplification 

 
No applicable Illinois law. 

Sec. 1104 
 
(Effective upon 
enactment) 

• PPACA requires HHS to develop operating rules 
for the electronic exchange of health information, 
transaction standards for electronic funds 
transfers and requirements for financial and 
administrative transactions. 

• Rules to be adopted by July 1, 2011 and to 
become effective by January 1, 2013 

 
 

2014 INSURANCE REFORMS 
-- Effective for plan years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 --  

Health 
Insurance 
Premiums 

 
Individual/Family Health Insurance 
• Illinois law does not limit the amount a 

health insurance company can charge 
based on an individual’s health status or 
other rating factors such as age or gender. 
o For example, if a woman and man are 

of the same age, live in the same 
house, have the same health status, and 
see doctors in the same hospital, the 
woman can be charged much more 
than the man (up to 57% by some 
insurance companies)—independent of 
maternity benefits. 

o See the Individual Major Medical 
Health Policy Rate Filing Guide 
posted on the Department’s website 
for an explanation of the different 
factors that may affect your premium 
under current Illinois law. 

 
Group (Employer-Based) Health Insurance 
• Small employers (50 or fewer employees) 

benefit from limited rating protections 
established by State law, but these small 
businesses are vulnerable to dramatic, 

Sec. 1201 
 
PHSA 2701 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 
 

• PPACA prohibits insurance companies from 
varying premiums based on health status, gender, 
and other factors. Premiums may vary only by: 

o Age (3:1 maximum) 
o Tobacco use (1.5:1 maximum) 
o Geographic area 
o Whether coverage is for an individual or a 

family. 
 
 

 
 

http://insurance.illinois.gov/reports/special_reports/IMMHPRFRG.pdf
http://insurance.illinois.gov/reports/special_reports/IMMHPRFRG.pdf
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unpredictable, and unaffordable rate 
increases upon renewal. (215 ILCS 93) 

 
• Individual employees or their family 

members receiving coverage through an 
employer group (of any size) may not be 
charged more for coverage based on 
health status. (215 ILCS 97/25) 

 

Guaranteed 
availability of 
coverage  

 
Individual/Family Health Insurance 
• Illinois law does not require insurance 

companies to accept every individual that 
applies for coverage. 
o Insurers can deny coverage for any 

reason other than an applicant’s “race, 
color, religion, or national origin.” 
(215 ILCS 5/424)   

 
Group (Employer-Based) Health Insurance 
• State and federal laws require insurance 

companies to accept every small employer 
(2-50 employees) that applies for coverage. 
o Employers with 51 or more employees 

do not benefit from the same 
protection. 

• Individual employees or their family 
members may not be denied coverage 
based on health status. (215 ILCS 97/25) 

 
 
 

Sec. 1201  
 
PHSA Sec. 2702 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 
 
 

 
• PPACA requires insurance companies to accept 

every employer—regardless of size—and every 
individual that applies for coverage. 

o An insurer may restrict enrollment based 
upon open or special enrollment periods. 
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Preexisting 
Condition 
Exclusions 

Insurers 
Individual/Family Health Insurance: 
• Illinois law allows health insurers to deny 

or reduce a claim, within the first 2 years 
after the policy’s effective date, based on 
the presence of a “preexisting condition.” 
(215 ILCS 5/357.3) 
o In general, a condition can be 

considered preexisting if it was 
diagnosed or treated by a licensed 
physician within 24 months prior to 
the policy’s effective date.  A 
condition that was not diagnosed or 
treated could also be considered a 
preexisting condition if there were 
symptoms evident within 12 months 
before the policy’s effective date that 
would have caused “an ordinarily 
prudent person to seek diagnosis, care 
or treatment.” (50 Ill. Adm. Code 
2005.30). 

 
Group (Employer-Based) Health Insurance: 
• State and federal laws limit the maximum 

preexisting condition exclusion period to 
12 months (or 18 months in the case of a 
late enrollee) for persons covered by 
employer-based health insurance policies. 

• The maximum exclusion period must be 
reduced by a person’s prior health 
insurance coverage. 

• A condition cannot be considered 
preexisting unless medical care was 
recommended or received within the 6 
months prior to the date of enrollment. 
(215 ILCS 97/20)  

 

Sec. 1201 
 
PHSA Sec. 2704 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered 
individual plans) 
 

• PPACA prohibits all preexisting condition 
exclusions. 
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HMOs 
• HMOs may not deny or reduce a claim for 

preexisting conditions. HMOs may, 
however, impose higher cost-sharing 
requirements for the treatment of 
preexisting conditions.  

(50 Ill. Adm. Code 5421.110(j)) 

Covered 
Benefits 

 
• Illinois law requires insurers and HMOs to 

provide certain mandated benefits, including 
coverage for the treatment of autism and 
preventive benefits such as mammograms 
and other cancer screenings.  See here for a 
comprehensive list of mandated benefits. 

 
• Many other benefits—such as maternity 

benefits and mental health services—may 
not be covered by a health insurance policy.  

 
 

Sec. 1201 
 
PHSA Sec. 2707 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 
 
 

 
• PPACA requires all individual and small group 

health insurance policies to provide coverage for 
a minimum package of “essential health 
benefits,” which will include benefits in at least 
the following categories: 7 
o Ambulatory patient services; 
o Emergency services; 
o Hospitalization; 
o Maternity and newborn care; 
o Mental health and substance use disorder 

services, including behavioral health 
treatment; 

o Prescription drugs; 
o Rehabilitative and habilitative services and 

devices; 
o Laboratory services; and 
o Pediatric services, including oral and vision 

care. 
 

                                                 
7 The small group market in Illinois is defined as the market for health insurance sold to employers with 2-50 employees. Beginning in 2016, employers with 1-100 employees will 
be considered “small employers” for the purpose of the PPACA reforms. 

http://insurance.illinois.gov/HealthInsurance/Mandated_benefits.asp


14 

Cost-Sharing 
Limits 

 
Insurers: 
• Illinois law does not limit the cost-sharing 

requirements (including deductibles, co-
payments and coinsurance rates) that may 
apply under a group or individual health 
insurance policy. 

 
HMOs: 
• Deductibles and copayments for HMO 

enrollees in a year may not exceed $3000 
per individual or $6000 per family. (50 Ill. 
Adm. Code 5421.110(i)) 

 Sec. 1201 
 
PHSA Sec. 2707 
 
(Does not apply to 
grandfathered plans) 

 
• PPACA requires all individual and group plans 

(including self-insured plans) to ensure that 
annual cost-sharing requirements—including co-
pays, deductibles, and coinsurance amounts—do 
not exceed the dollar amounts applicable to 
Health Savings Accounts, adjusted annually 
(currently $5,950 for individuals and $11,900 for 
families). 

• For group plans, PPACA prohibits deductibles 
greater than $2,000 for single coverage and 
$4,000 for family coverage. 

 


